News & Activities Home > News & Activities

Temporary Visa Regulations during COVID-19 Outbreak

As part of the efforts to limit the spread of COVID-19, the Royal Thai Government has revised its visa policy for foreign visitors to Thailand and issued temporary visa regulations as follows:

1. Temporary Suspension of:

(1) Visa on Arrival (VoA) for ordinary passport holders of Bulgaria, Bhutan, the People's Republic of China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstans, Malta, Mexico, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu and Taiwan;

(2) 30-day Visa Exemption Scheme for ordinary passport holders of Italy.

With these suspensions in effect from 13 March - 30 September 2020ordinary passport holders of the above-mentioned countries/territories are now required to apply for appropriate visa to enter Thailand through Royal Thai Embassies and Consulates-General where they have their permanent residencies. 

2. Visa Application at the Royal Thai Embassies and Consulates-General by persons travelling from the People's Republic of China (excluding Macao and Hong Kong) and Italy require additional documents as follows:

For Ordinary Passport holders:

(1) Health Certificate, certifying that they are not infected by COVID-19;
(2) Health Insurance, with a sum insured of not less than 100,000 USD.

For Diplomatic, Official and UN passport holders:

(1) Medical (Fit to Fly) Certificate;
(2) Certifying letter that medical expenses are covered by relevant government or UN Agency.




Royal Thai Embassy, Bern
19 March 2020